EWH Take II

13 Jul

Although it seems that I am seriously neglecting this blog, I promise you this was not the intention.  I have infact experienced a series of unfortunate events. Firstly, the computer I brought with me stopped recognizing the power cord and therefore the battery has died and everything on it is inaccessible. I had been typing my blog entries in Word so that when I had access to the internet I could just quickly copy & paste them into the blog.  Of course I did not back these blog entries up on a flash drive & I have lost them all (for the time being). Second, our cameras have been stolen with the memory cards in them, so I am missing quite a few pictures.  I will try to fill in the blanks when I return to the States but for the time being, I will just give you a recent update.

We are now in the second portion of our program and are working in the Regional Atlantic Hospital in La Ceiba, Honduras.  The city is well a city, lots of traffic, shady characters lurking around and lots of pollution. It is however surrounded by the most beautiful mountains that are covered in a dense green jungle.  It makes morning runs so enjoyable and when I am starting to feel discouraged at the hospital I just need to take one step outside to feel rejuvenated.

Unbenounced to our program, the government has built a new hospital here with their own funds, as well as a loan from Korea.

This came as quite the surprise and we quickly found that most of the equipment here is brand new, so our experience has been much different than expected.  This does not however mean that the hospital has no need for us. There is still broken equipment, and more so there is plenty of equipment that is not being used because the staff does not know how to use it.  The equipment was purchased by the Korean architect, so much of the equipment is from Korean companies and arrived with manuals in poorly translated English.  We have already been able to put  a much needed incubator back into service,

as well as a group of infusion pumps, and two defibrilators by creating small manuals in Spanish so that the staff knows how to properly use them. This has not been the easiest task because we almost have to rewrite everything in proper English and then work on translating them to Spanish.

We are currently working on a broken ventilator in the pediatric emergency room and have been able to get in contact with the manufactuer so we can get a service manual and try to repair it (as well as translate portions of the service manual for future problems).  All in all, we are having a really positive experience and feel confident that our time here will be well spent.  Again, I would like to thank all of you for your support.

Leave a Reply

